PERCÉ (the panorama of the Rocher Percé from the road stop is in high definition. Zoom in the picture)
Percé is a small city near the tip of the Gaspé Peninsula in Quebec, Canada. Within the territory of the city there is a village community also called Percé.
Percé, member of the association of Most Beautiful Villages of Quebec, is mainly a tourist location particularly well known for the attractions of Percé Rock and Bonaventure Island.
In addition to Percé itself, the town’s territory also includes the communities of Barachois, Belle-Anse, Bougainville, Bridgeville, Cap-d’Espoir, Cannes-de-Roches, Coin-du-Banc, L’Anse-à-Beaufils, Pointe-Saint-Pierre, Rameau, Saint-Georges-de-Malbaie, and Val-d’Espoir.
Percé is the seat of the judicial district of Gaspé.
A must-see touristic village, Saint-Jean-Port-Joli holds a special place in Québec’s cultural landscape.
A true Mecca of sculpture, our picturesque village was put on Québec’s tourist map by the work of three pioneers in the 1930s: Médard Bourgault (sculpture), Émilie Chamard (weaving) and Eugène Leclerc (model boats).
Located on the banks of the St. Lawrence and near the marina, our village can be explored leisurely as you visit our studios, museums and parks, which all demonstrate the importance we place on sculpture and craftsmanship. Visitors can discover the village’s little (and not so little!) treasures, like the church built in 1779.
Lodging and fine dining are plentiful here. You’ll have no trouble finding enjoyable restaurants, B&Bs and inns!
LIGHTHOUSE TRAIL OF QUÉBEC – CAP-CHAT
Built to signal the land to sailors, some of the lighthouses along the St. Lawrence River are still in service. Some are also used as tourist attractions and even as accommodation. The lighthouse of Cap-Chat can accommodate up to 16 people.
Here is the first lighthouse of this series. The lighthouse of Cap-Chat as well as a panorama of the wind farm of Cap-Chat.
The Europa is a steel-hulled barque registered in the Netherlands. Originally it was a German lightship, named Senator Brockes and built in 1911 at the H.C. Stülcken & Sohn shipyard in Hamburg, Germany. Until 1977, it was in use by the German Federal Coast Guard as a lightship on the river Elbe. A Dutchman bought the vessel (or what was left of her) in 1985 and in 1994 she was fully restored as a barque, a three-mast rigged vessel, and retrofitted for special-purpose sail-training.
Tall ship Atyla is a two-masted wooden schooner handmade in Spain between 1980 and 1984. She was designed by Esteban Vicente Jimenez to look like the Spanish vessels from the 1800s and built with the intention of circumnavigating the earth following the Magellan–Elcano route and then become a training ship. Although she never did that trip and instead sailed around Spain for almost her 30 years, in 2013 Esteban’s nephew became her new skipper and decided to finally dedicate her to international sail training for both professionals and amateurs.
USCGC Eagle, is a Gorch Fock-class barque originally commissioned as Segelschulschiff Horst Wessel, a Nazi training vessel taken as war reparations by the United States and commissioned into the Coast Guard in 1946; she is still in active service
Alexander von Humboldt II is a German sailing ship built as a replacement for the ship Alexander von Humboldt
The Oosterschelde is a three-masted schooner from the Netherlands, built in 1918. She is the largest restored Dutch freightship and the only remaining Dutch three-masted topsail schooner.
Bluenose was a fishing and racing schooner built in 1921 in Nova Scotia, Canada. A celebrated racing ship and fishing vessel, Bluenose under the command of Angus Walters became a provincial icon for Nova Scotia and an important Canadian symbol in the 1930s, serving as a working vessel until she was wrecked in 1946. Nicknamed the “Queen of the North Atlantic,” she was later commemorated by a replica, Bluenose II, built in 1963. The name Bluenose originated as a nickname for Nova Scotians from as early as the late 18th century.