The Cavalier-du-moulin Park
In 1663, Simon Denys of La Trinité built a mill on a rocky mound called Mount Carmel, on the site of the present Cavalier-du-Moulin park. In 1693, this mill is integrated into a defensive work called Cavalier. By bringing the line of fortifications back to the west in 1755, the rider lost his mill and strategic value at the same time.
A unique look over the Vieux-Québec
Source: City of Québec