The Onondaga project is a project of the Pointe-au-Père Maritime Historical Site (SHMP), a museum located in Rimouski, Quebec, Canada, to convert HMCS Onondaga, a submarine of the Royal Canadian Navy, disarmed in June 2000. Launched by the Canadian War Museum (CWM) in 2000, the Onondaga conversion project was abandoned by the museum in 2002 due to a lack of funding. The SHMP, which has been interested in a museum submarine project since 2000, is conducting a feasibility study in 2003 demonstrating the potential for profitability of the project and acquired Onondaga in 2005.
In 2006, the SHMP began working with governments to finance the project and meet environmental requirements. It also identifies the submarine installation site, parallel to the Pointe-au-Père wharf. This choice entails an increase in installation costs, forcing the museum to reduce the concept of the exhibition and to develop a haulage method using a rail to reduce costs. The SHMP finally gets financial support from governments in early 2008.
PERCÉ (the panorama of the Rocher Percé from the road stop is in high definition. Zoom in the picture)
Percé is a small city near the tip of the Gaspé Peninsula in Quebec, Canada. Within the territory of the city there is a village community also called Percé.
Percé, member of the association of Most Beautiful Villages of Quebec, is mainly a tourist location particularly well known for the attractions of Percé Rock and Bonaventure Island.
In addition to Percé itself, the town’s territory also includes the communities of Barachois, Belle-Anse, Bougainville, Bridgeville, Cap-d’Espoir, Cannes-de-Roches, Coin-du-Banc, L’Anse-à-Beaufils, Pointe-Saint-Pierre, Rameau, Saint-Georges-de-Malbaie, and Val-d’Espoir.
Percé is the seat of the judicial district of Gaspé.
A must-see touristic village, Saint-Jean-Port-Joli holds a special place in Québec’s cultural landscape.
A true Mecca of sculpture, our picturesque village was put on Québec’s tourist map by the work of three pioneers in the 1930s: Médard Bourgault (sculpture), Émilie Chamard (weaving) and Eugène Leclerc (model boats).
Located on the banks of the St. Lawrence and near the marina, our village can be explored leisurely as you visit our studios, museums and parks, which all demonstrate the importance we place on sculpture and craftsmanship. Visitors can discover the village’s little (and not so little!) treasures, like the church built in 1779.
Lodging and fine dining are plentiful here. You’ll have no trouble finding enjoyable restaurants, B&Bs and inns!
Built to signal the land to sailors, some of the lighthouses along the St. Lawrence River are still in service. Some are also used as tourist attractions and even as accommodation. The lighthouse of Cap-Chat can accommodate up to 16 people.
Here is the first lighthouse of this series. The lighthouse of Cap-Chat as well as a panorama of the wind farm of Cap-Chat.
HMCS Toronto (FFH 333) is a Halifax-class frigate that has served in the Canadian Forces since 1993. Toronto is the fourth ship in her class which is the name for the Canadian Patrol Frigate Project. She is the second vessel (and frigate) to carry the designation HMCS Toronto. When not on operations she is assigned to Maritime Forces Atlantic (MARLANT) and is based at CFB Halifax. Toronto serves on MARLANT missions protecting Canada’s sovereignty in the Atlantic Ocean and enforcing Canadian laws in its territorial sea and Exclusive Economic Zone.
The Europa is a steel-hulled barque registered in the Netherlands. Originally it was a German lightship, named Senator Brockes and built in 1911 at the H.C. Stülcken & Sohn shipyard in Hamburg, Germany. Until 1977, it was in use by the German Federal Coast Guard as a lightship on the river Elbe. A Dutchman bought the vessel (or what was left of her) in 1985 and in 1994 she was fully restored as a barque, a three-mast rigged vessel, and retrofitted for special-purpose sail-training.